Janine Davidson Named to National Commission on the Structure of the Air Force

Posted: April 23, 2013 at 5:02 am, Last Updated: April 24, 2013 at 7:03 am

Print Friendly

By Catherine Probst

Janine Davidson. Photo courtesy of Janine Davidson

Janine Davidson. Photo courtesy of Janine Davidson

Janine Davidson, assistant professor in the School of Public Policy at George Mason University, was one of four experts chosen by President Barack Obama to serve on the newly created National Commission on the Structure of the Air Force.

The commission was created as part of the 2013 National Defense Authorization Act after the Air Force faced criticism last year because of its proposed cuts to National Guard and reserve positions around the country. The commission will undertake a comprehensive study of the structure of the Air Force to determine whether, and how, the structure should be adapted to best fulfill current and anticipated mission requirements for the Air Force in a manner consistent with available resources.

“I am honored to be appointed by the president of the United States to serve on this commission with such a distinguished group of people,” says Davidson. “I look forward to working with my colleagues on how to best meet future mission requirements for the Air Force and our nation.”

As an expert in national and global security policy and analysis, Davidson began her career in the United States Air Force, where she was an aircraft commander and senior pilot for the C-130 and the C-17 cargo aircraft. She flew combat support and humanitarian air mobility missions in Asia, Europe and the Middle East and was an instructor pilot at the U.S. Air Force Academy.

Recently, Davidson served as the deputy assistant secretary of defense for plans. She oversaw the development of guidance for military campaigns and contingency plans. While co-chairing the U.S.-Australia defense posture working group, she led policy efforts for U.S. global defense posture and international agreements related to U.S. forces stationed overseas. In 2012, she was awarded the Secretary of Defense Medal for Outstanding Public Service.

At Mason, she teaches courses on national security, policymaking, strategy, civil–military relations and public policy. She also serves as a nonresident senior fellow at the Center for a New American Security, whose mission it is to develop strong, pragmatic and principled national security and defense policies.

Davidson holds a PhD and an MA in international studies from the University of South Carolina and a BS in architectural engineering from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Other commission members appointed by the president include retired Lt. Gen. Dennis McCarthy of The Military Experts; F. Whitten Peters, former Air Force secretary; and Margaret Harrell, director of the Army Health Program.

The other four members of the eight-member commission, appointed by the House and Senate Armed Service committees, are former Acting Secretary of the Army, Les Brownlee; former Undersecretary of the Air Force, the Honorable Erin Conaton; General Ray Johns, USAF (ret.) and Lieutenant General Harry M.  (Bud) Wyatt, III USF (ret.).

For more information, see the White House press release.

Write to Colleen Kearney Rich at ckearney@gmu.edu

Leave a Comment